Golden Circle - Reisverslag uit Reykjavik, IJsland van Nielsvdb - WaarBenJij.nu Golden Circle - Reisverslag uit Reykjavik, IJsland van Nielsvdb - WaarBenJij.nu

Golden Circle

Door: Niels

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

08 Maart 2017 | IJsland, Reykjavik

This blog is also long overdue, but I like to write them anyway for future reference.
Somewhere in October last year I decided to go to the US, to visit a friend who lives in New Jersey. I met him two years ago in Sri Lanka. We were involved in the same volunteering program and he was my roommate for two weeks. We kept in touch ever since.
So I decided to go in wintertime. I guess I had enough of blazing hot weather in countries I travelled to, and wanted to cool off.
Almost immediately after my last exam of the first semester I boarded a plane to Iceland.
Why Iceland?
Well, an indirect flight to the US is cheaper and IcelandAir offers a layover in Iceland up to seven days without any additional costs. So I thought, 'If I have to stop in Iceland I might as well spend a few days there.' So I did.
So I got the bus from the airport to downtown and got myself a hostel. The hostel with the Golden Circle tour for the next day I've booked in advance.
Met some nice people there but unfortunately our ways parted immediately as we've booked different tours in advance.
The Classic Golden Circle tour took a full day and was amazing. It took you to see Gullfoss, a major waterfall and Geysir.
We started at Þingvellir, where the two tectonial plates meet and the world's first parliament was established by the Vikings.
Still, I thought it was not as cold as I initially thought, until we arrived at Gullfoss. It was the wind that made it cold, very cold. But our guide kept saying it was just a breeze, nothing compared to the winds they experience in Iceland. I begged the difference. If I had opened my jacket I swear I would have been blown away.
At Geysir it smelled like rotten eggs. I had a very brief warm sensation when a geyser squired boiling water all over me. But then I got cold again very quickly. Luckily this was the last stop and I could take a hot shower back at the hostel.
All day it was cloudy and rainy. Also at night the clouds did not move away so the chances of seeing the Northern Lights where minimal. Because of the weather I decided not to book a Northern Lights tour that night. It was cold and I was exhaused and went to bed early.
The next day I just wandered about in Reykjavik before catching my flight to JFK, New York. I went to the not-very-aesthetic church in Reykjavik and went shopping for a new rucksack, because mine broke down.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Actief sinds 06 Juli 2015
Verslag gelezen: 570
Totaal aantal bezoekers 65461

Voorgaande reizen:

15 Augustus 2019 - 05 September 2019

The warm heart of Africa

20 Juli 2019 - 28 Juli 2019

Egypte

15 September 2018 - 30 September 2018

Iran

05 Februari 2017 - 15 Februari 2017

Iceland, New York and Washington DC

02 Juli 2016 - 24 Juli 2016

Backpacking Central America

02 November 2015 - 08 November 2015

Israel and Jordan

08 Augustus 2015 - 01 September 2015

Sri Lanka

08 Juni 2013 - 11 Augustus 2013

ZO Azië

Landen bezocht: