America's front yard - Reisverslag uit Washington, D. C., Verenigde Staten van Nielsvdb - WaarBenJij.nu America's front yard - Reisverslag uit Washington, D. C., Verenigde Staten van Nielsvdb - WaarBenJij.nu

America's front yard

Door: Niels

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

07 April 2017 | Verenigde Staten, Washington, D. C.

America's front yard is the colloqial term for the National Mall in Washington DC. The National Mall is not a mall where you can buy stuff. It is the area between the US Capitol and the Washington Monument.
I arrived at 5pm at Union Station and it was only a short walk to my hostel in Downtown DC.
I dropped my things, ate an all-American burger and headed out. By the time it was already dark and I went to see the Capitol and White House by night. At least I thought I saw the White House. Of course the place was crawling with the Secret Service and FBI. They were building up a stage for some kind of speech. Everything was closed down so I returned to my hostel.
After a good night sleep I went to the National Mall again. I started at the actual White House, and went on to the Washington Monument. It was rather early, the weather was not very good, and there were only a few other tourists. But by the time I arrived at the Lincoln Memorial, after visiting the WWII memorial, the Vietnam memorial, the Korean War memorial and the MLK memorial, more and more tourist came to the National Mall. But still, the place was not crawling with them. After that, I crossed the Potomac and visted Arlington National Cemetery. This was very impressive. Everywhere you saw white headstones of veterans and their families.
Then I wanted to go to the Pentagon, which lay a bit father outside the city. I wanted to take the subway to the Pentagon and than loop back to the Smithsonian at the National Mall. Unfortunately the subway station was closed due to repairs. There were, however, busses to the Pentagon, but now I decided not to go anymore. I figured there was nothing else to see there except the Pentagon itself and probably the place was crawling with Secret Service and FBI, much like the White House. Probably I couldn't even get close to the Pentagon, thus I crossed the Potomac again and ate a Subway sandwich before heading for the US Capitol. I stopped briefly at the Smithsonian and wanted to visit the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum. But by the time I was not feeling well and decided to skip this. Instead I went on to the Capitol and the Supreme Court, which lay behind it. This time I was not obstructed by any law enforcement officers and could come very close to both buildings.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Actief sinds 06 Juli 2015
Verslag gelezen: 1699
Totaal aantal bezoekers 65475

Voorgaande reizen:

15 Augustus 2019 - 05 September 2019

The warm heart of Africa

20 Juli 2019 - 28 Juli 2019

Egypte

15 September 2018 - 30 September 2018

Iran

05 Februari 2017 - 15 Februari 2017

Iceland, New York and Washington DC

02 Juli 2016 - 24 Juli 2016

Backpacking Central America

02 November 2015 - 08 November 2015

Israel and Jordan

08 Augustus 2015 - 01 September 2015

Sri Lanka

08 Juni 2013 - 11 Augustus 2013

ZO Azië

Landen bezocht: